Arrested for Drunk Driving and Registering a High BAC?
A DUI/OWI arrest can result in both civil and criminal penalties. However, for individuals facing first-offense drunk driving charges in Michigan, the civil consequences can be even harsher than criminal penalties — particularly for individuals facing consequences under Michigan's super drunk driving laws. If you have been arrested for drunk driving in the Greater Lansing, Michigan, area and are facing charges under the state's new super drunk DUI/OWI laws, it is critical to consult an experienced criminal defense lawyer who will take decisive action to protect your rights, your freedom and your finances.
At Baird and Zulakis, P.C., we are dedicated to protecting your interests and helping you avoid the harshest consequences. To arrange an initial consultation with an experienced DUI defense attorney at the Okemos law firm of Baird and Zulakis, P.C., contact us today. Call 517-349-5011 or 800-385-0092.
Michigan's Super Drunk Driving Laws
Michigan's legislature has enacted new drunk driving laws (effective October 31, 2010) that enhance the civil and criminal consequences for individuals who are convicted for operating while intoxicated with a bodily alcohol content (BAC) level measured at .17 percent or higher. The license suspension and fines enhanced by the law are applicable to first-offense drunk driving charges (penalties for repeat offenses are not changed by the law).
Under Michigan's super drunk driving laws, penalties for first-offense drunk driving with a high BAC (.17 percent or higher) can include:
- Enhanced jail time up to 180 days (although many people are forced to participate in an intensive fast-track program as an alternative)
- Enhanced fines up to $700
- Extended license suspension to one year (additional rules involving restricted licenses)
- Required one-year alcohol rehabilitation (alcohol treatment program or self-help program)
- Additional drunk driving fines, fees and consequences
Super Drunk DUI/OWI Laws and Your License
A conviction for drunk driving under the new laws can be extremely detrimental to your license and your finances. In addition to extending license suspension periods from six months to one year, the new law requires a period of 45 days of absolutely no driving before you can become eligible for a restricted license — which would allow you to drive to work, school and certain medical appointments. However, in order to be approved for a restricted license, the new law requires installation of an ignition interlock device — an expense that you must bear. This expense includes installation (which can be up to $50) and monthly maintenance (which can be up to $100 per month).
Violation of ignition interlock rules by attempting to operate with a BAC of .025 percent or higher will result in revocation of your restricted license for 45 days and extension of your license suspension period for an additional year.
Super Drunk Diving Laws: Repeat DUI/OWI Offenders
While Michigan's super drunk driving laws primarily affect first-offense convictions, provisions of the new law are applicable for repeat offenders. For example, repeat offenders are bound by the same alcohol rehabilitation requirement and ignition interlock installation requirement as first-time offenders are held to.
Contact an Experienced, Reputable, Proven DUI/OWI Defense Lawyer
The stakes are high in drunk driving cases and Michigan's super drunk driving laws make stakes even higher. When your finances, driving privileges and future are on the line, trust in attorney George Zulakis and the legal team at Baird and Zulakis, P.C., in Okemos, Michigan. Contact us to discuss your case. Our office hours are Monday through Friday, 8:00 a.m.-12:00 p.m., 1:00 p.m.-5:00 p.m., and by appointment.